Full Moon and New Moon for October 2022

First Quarter - Oct 2022First Quarter
October 3 - 00:14 UTCnextDate
Full Moon - Oct 2022Full Moon
October 9 - 20:54 UTCnextDate
Last Quarter - Oct 2022Last Quarter
October 17 - 17:15 UTCnextDate
New Moon - Oct 2022New Moon
October 25 - 10:48 UTCnextDate
First Quarter - Oct 2022
First Quarter
October 3
00:14 UTC
Full Moon - Oct 2022
Full Moon
October 9
20:54 UTC
Last Quarter - Oct 2022
Last Quarter
October 17
17:15 UTC
New Moon - Oct 2022
New Moon
October 25
10:48 UTC

Current Phase details for October 2022

Above are the details for the Full Moon, New Moon and Quarter Moon phases of the current month of October 2022. This Month starts with a First Quarter on Monday the 3rd of October. The Last Quarter is later in the month on Monday the 17th of October. The last major phase of this month is a New Moon on Tuesday, October 25th. The Full Moon occurs at specific times and can vary depending on where you live. Check the Date and Times Chart below to see how the day and times can vary in your local timezone.

Harvest Full Moon

The Harvest Moon and Hunter's Moon

October’s full moon is commonly called the Hunter’s Moon, harkening back to European and Native American traditions where hunters would use the light of the full moon to track down their prey and stock up for the coming winter. Contrary to popular belief, the Hunter’s Moon isn’t actually bigger or brighter than usual. It simply rises earlier, soon after sunset, which would give hunters plenty of bright moonlight to hunt by during the early evenings. To Neo Pagans, however, the Hunter’s Moon is known by a far more morbid name - the Blood Moon.

Humans through the ages have always found autumn’s full moons to be creepy, and not without good reason. There’s a reason why English folks in the Middle Ages called October’s full moon the Blood Moon, and it’s the exact same reason why even Halloween imagery today often features a large, low-hanging moon with an eerie reddish glow. The Hunter’s Moon rises early in the evening, which means that you are more likely to see it near the horizon. When you observe the moon while it’s near the horizon, it gives off the illusion of being bigger while it’s in fact the same size. In addition, observing the moon at the horizon makes it look redder. This is because you’re seeing it through a thicker atmosphere, which scatters more blue light and lets more red light pass through to reach your eyes.

Scientific explanations aside, the Hunter’s Moon or Blood Moon still holds an undeniable aura of mystique and power. As October’s full moon occurs right before Samhain, the Gaelic mid-autumn festival that has evolved into Halloween today, Neo Pagans consider the month of the Blood Moon to be a special time denoting the change of seasons and a prime opportunity to contact dead loved ones, given the thinning of the veil between the physical world and the spiritual world. Precious stones such as amethyst are used to ward off evil, and sacred flowers like chrysanthemum are used when working with spirits, such as in rituals to commune with long-dead ancestors.

Despite the Blood Moon’s spooky associations, it rarely actually happens on Samhain or Halloween night itself. The next time you’ll get to see the full moon on Halloween is 2020, and if you miss that, you’ll have to wait 15 years to see it in 2035. Sometimes, October’s full moon even happens early enough in the month that it becomes the Harvest Moon, which is defined as the full moon that’s closest to the fall equinox. In Chinese culture, the Harvest Moon is celebrated during the Mid-Autumn Festival, where people gather to celebrate by eating mooncakes. There is also a harvest festival in India that celebrates October’s full moon, called Sharad Purnima. Devotees fast all day before offering delicacies to the Moon God under the moonlight.

In contrast to the day-long fast of India’s moonlight festival, the Hunter’s Moon was a very important feast day in Europe as well as for many Native American tribes. Appropriately, the Ponca tribe’s name for the Hunter’s Moon is “the moon when they store food in caches”. Taking advantage of the fact that the fields have been reaped, hunters would capture foxes and other small animals who come out to graze on the fallen grains, as well as hunt down deer in the moonlight. They would butcher their prey and preserve their meat. Blood Moon is an excellent name for this month’s full moon, given that it was a final, bloody harvesting of meat before the winter months.

Sadly, the tradition of feasting during the Hunter’s Moon was lost around the year 1700, but its spirit still lives on in historical reenactments like the Feast of the Hunter’s Moon, or even the feast of candy enjoyed by trick-or-treaters everywhere on Halloween.

Local Date and Time for October 2022 Full Moon in major cities around the world:

Los Angeles,
San Francisco,
Vancouver

October 9, 2022
1:54pm PDT

Denver,
Salt Lake City,
Calgary

October 9, 2022
2:54pm MDT

Chicago,
Houston,
San Antonio

October 9, 2022
3:54pm CDT

New York,
Toronto,
Atlanta

October 9, 2022
4:54pm EDT

London,
Manchester,
Dublin

October 9, 2022
9:54pm BST

Paris,
Rome,
Berlin

October 9, 2022
10:54pm CEST

Athens,
Istanbul,
Helsinki

October 9, 2022
11:54pm EEST

Dubai,
Abu Dhabi,
Muscat

October 10, 2022
12:54am +04

Bangalore,
Mumbai,
New Delhi

October 10, 2022
2:24am IST

Singapore,
Kuala Lumpur

October 10, 2022
4:54am +08

Perth,
Hong Kong,
Beijing

October 10, 2022
4:54am AWST

Sydney,
Brisbane,
Melbourne

October 10, 2022
7:54am AEDT