Full Moon and New Moon for April 2021

Last Quarter - Apr 2021Last Quarter
April 4 - 10:02 UTC
New Moon - Apr 2021New Moon
April 12 - 02:31 UTC
First Quarter - Apr 2021First Quarter
April 20 - 06:59 UTC
Full Moon - Apr 2021Full Moon
April 27 - 03:31 UTC
Last Quarter - Apr 2021
Last Quarter
April 4
10:02 UTC
New Moon - Apr 2021
New Moon
April 12
02:31 UTC
First Quarter - Apr 2021
First Quarter
April 20
06:59 UTC
Full Moon - Apr 2021
Full Moon
April 27
03:31 UTC

April 2021 Moon Details

The Full Moon for this month will occur later in the month on Tuesday, April 27th. The New Moon is earlier in the month on Monday, April 12th.

Full Pink Moon

April's Full Pink Moon

April’s full moon is widely known as the Full Pink Moon, even though it doesn’t actually turn pastel pink as the name suggests. The Full Pink Moon’s name comes from the abundance of moss phlox, a common little pink flower that typically begins to spread across the ground in early spring. With that said, this creeping phlox is not the only thing that begins blooming during the Full Pink Moon.

In many Native American tribes, April’s full moon is associated with the bustling life and vibrant growth of spring. In Sioux culture, it’s named after the sprouting of red grass. The Comanche tribe called it the New Spring Moon, and both the Tlingit and Sioux tribes referred to it as the Budding Moon, after the new plants that begin to bud and sprout during spring. The Cherokee tribe even called it the Flower Moon (though that name is also sometimes used to refer to May’s full moon), and celebrated it for the growth of useful medicinal plants and magical herbs.

At the same time, April is a time when rivers and streams begin to fully thaw. Accordingly, the Shoshone tribe named April’s full moon the Full Melting Moon, and the Arapaho tribe called it the Moon Where Ice Breaks in the River. It was also known as the Fish Moon because of the fish that would begin to swim upstream during this time. The Cherokees believed that flowing water was under the control of a spirit called the Long Man, and so would perform rituals to honor him during the Full Pink Moon. An example of a ritual like this was the Knee Deep Dance, based off the movements of the Water Frog. The Assiniboine tribe also called April’s full moon the Frog Moon.

Water is not the only thing that starts to flow during the Full Pink Moon - this is also the time where maple sap begins to flow in earnest, marking the true beginning of the incredibly important sugar-making season. The Abenaki tribes called April’s full moon the Sugar Maker Moon, and the Ojibwe called it the Sugarbush Moon. The Ojibwe tribe would journey north to their spring camps to tap maple syrup and engage in spear fishing. Maple syrup was integral to Ojibwe culture: not only was it a crucial method of seasoning all their foods (they did not have access to salt at that time), but it also symbolized harmony within the community and with the forces of nature around them.

The Full Pink Moon also holds religious significance in other cultures. For example, in Islamic communities around the world, April’s full moon is celebrated as Bara’at Night, also known as the Night of Innocence. Muslims offer up prayers, asking God to absolve dead ancestors of their sins. They also prepare sweet desserts such as halwa or zarda and give it out to children, the needy, and other members of their community. Meanwhile, Christians call it the Paschal Moon, and celebrate the first Sunday after April’s full moon as Easter Sunday. It’s possible that the reason why the Easter Bunny brings eggs is because April’s full moon is also known as the Egg Moon, given that animals such as geese begin mating and laying eggs in spring.

Local Date and Time for April 2021 Full Moon in major cities around the world:

Los Angeles,
San Francisco,
Vancouver

April 26, 2021
8:31pm PDT

Denver,
Salt Lake City,
Calgary

April 26, 2021
9:31pm MDT

Chicago,
Houston,
San Antonio

April 26, 2021
10:31pm CDT

New York,
Toronto,
Atlanta

April 26, 2021
11:31pm EDT

London,
Manchester,
Dublin

April 27, 2021
4:31am BST

Paris,
Rome,
Berlin

April 27, 2021
5:31am CEST

Athens,
Istanbul,
Helsinki

April 27, 2021
6:31am EEST

Dubai,
Abu Dhabi,
Muscat

April 27, 2021
7:31am +04

Bangalore,
Mumbai,
New Delhi

April 27, 2021
9:01am IST

Singapore,
Kuala Lumpur

April 27, 2021
11:31am +08

Perth,
Hong Kong,
Beijing

April 27, 2021
11:31am AWST

Sydney,
Brisbane,
Melbourne

April 27, 2021
1:31pm AEST

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Enter your email for custom Monthly Moon Updates!





Were you born on a Full Moon?
Click Here to find out